10 Questions with Sanya

During Homework Zone we are always learning more about our mentees. However, it is also nice to continue to learn about our fellow mentors. Since many of us are in different schools and do not get the chance to talk and since even those of us in the same school often do not get a chance to talk while keeping track of our mentee(s), I thought I would post a little Q&A about one of the many excellent mentors volunteering this semester. I would like to thank Sanya, a mentor at Verdun, for answering these questions, and I hope you enjoy learning a little more about her.

  1. What’s your name?

Sanya Bhalla

  1. What year and what program are you currently in at McGill?

I am a U3 student studying Economics and Finance.

  1. When not at McGill, where do you call home?

Originally from India, I moved to Montreal for my Undergrad. India is the place I call home.

  1. Why did you decide to volunteer with HZ?

I decided to volunteer with Homework Zone because I like to spend time with children. With this opportunity I had hoped to interact with them and help them in whichever way I can. Also, I expected Homework Zone would provide me with some teaching experience and an opportunity for personal growth.

  1. What are you most looking forward to about HZ?

I think working with children, especially elementary school kids would be an interesting experience. These kids are young, energetic, and so full of life. I am really looking forward to interacting with them.

  1. Have you had any other experience in mentoring?

I had never been involved in a mentoring program before. Though, I had actively participated in fundraising activities for child healthcare and welfare programs. Homework Zone has provided me with a way to work with children directly.

  1. In your opinion, what’s the coolest place you’ve ever been to?

Southern India has a beautiful state called Kerala, resplendent in natural beauty. I would say it has been the most amazing place I have been to. From beautiful waterfalls to random elephant sightings, the state is rightly called ‘gods’s own country.’

  1. Do have any particular interest or talent you want to share with your mentee?

Since I was a 6 year old and my mom gifted me my first book, I have been an avid reader. I would like to share my love for reading with my mentee. I have also been particularly interested in crafts (example origami) and would like to share that with the child.

  1. From a personal stand point, what is your favourite and least favourite thing about learning?

My most favorite thing about learning is interactive learning, e.g. group discussions, projects as it increases the retention rate. Conversely, I hate rote learning for exams and it barely stays with you beyond the short term.
10. Would you rather win the lottery or find your perfect job?

Being an extremely risk averse person, I would like to find a stable and perfect job than a one-time windfall. 

Posted by Erin (Science U1)

Leave a comment